International House Bristol is working with International House London's IELTS Centre to hold regular IELTS tests throughout the year at our central location in Bristol. Please see our How to Register section if you would like to take the IELTS test with us.


  • The International English Language Testing System (IELTS) is jointly owned by the British Council, IDP: IELTS Australia and Cambridge English Language Assessment. IELTS is designed to assess the language ability of candidates who want to work or study in countries where English is the primary language of communication
  • IELTS scores are accepted by more than 9,000 recognising organisations and delivered in 1000+ locations worldwide
  • In the last year over 3,000,000 people took the IELTS Test
  • IELTS is available in two modules, Academic or General Training. You must decide prior to applying which module is best for you as we cannot advise you on which module you should take. Please note that the General Training module is not offered on all IELTS test dates
  • The Academic module generally is for people who want to study an undergraduate or postgraduate degree course or who wish to register with a professional body
  • The General Training module focuses on basic survival skills in a broader social and educational setting. General Training is gernerally suitable if you are joining a training programme or doing work experience in English-speaking countries, but is not designed for degree level. This module may be suitable for those wishing to emigrate to Australia, Canada and New Zealand.

*Please note that this is just a guide. Candidates must check which module is suitable for them with the institution, government agent, professional body or employer concerned.

Back to top


The following text is taken from the British Council's website:

"The UK government has announced important changes to language testing for visa applications, reducing the number of tests accepted for visa purposes and bringing in new requirements for the way the tests will be administered."

"IELTS has been approved as a SELT (Secure English Language Test) for all UK visas that require applicants to provide proof of their level of English from 6 April 2015."

"IELTS tests for visa purposes can only be taken at authorised centres and the centre must follow procedures specified by the UK government. When a test is booked, the customer must specify what the test is for and ensure that the centre is authorised to run tests for this purpose."

If you do not need to take IELTS for visa purposes you can take the regular IELTS test at any test centre.

If you want to take IELTS for UK visa purposes and you need to prove your speaking, listening, reading and writing skills at B1 level or above, you may need to take your IELTS test at an IELTS SELT centre.

If you want to take IELTS for UK visa purposes and you need to prove your speaking and listening skills only to A1 or B1 level, you will need to take the new IELTS Life Skills test at a SELT centre. Please click here for more information.


"Degree students for UK unaffected by UKVI changes. Tier 4 UK student visa rules remain unchanged"

When applying for undergraduate and postgraduate courses at most UK universities and colleges, different arrangements may apply – you should contact the institution you wish to apply to for more information.

For more information on the UK visas and immigration, please click here

For more up to date information on IELTS for UK visas, please visit the British Council's website.

Back to top

Sitting the IELTS Test in Bristol

  • We offer the pen and paper version of the IELTS test. Candidates are tested in four skill areas: listening, reading, writing and spoken English. For further information on how candidates are graded, please click here.
  • All candidates will sit the listening, reading and writing tests on Saturday morning. You must be at the test venue to register at 8.45am and the tests should finish at approximately 1.30pm.
  • In Bristol, all our speaking tests take place either the day before the main test or on the Saturday afternoon.
  • Friday speaking tests: Candidates who live locally, may do their speaking test on the Friday evening before the test day between 4pm and 7.35pm. Your speaking test day will be stated in your confirmation letter and your speaking test time will be sent by email a few days before the test. If you are unable to do a Friday speaking test, please e-mail us to let us know after you have made your application.
  • Saturday speaking tests: Candidates who live outside Bristol will automatically be allocated a Saturday afternoon speaking test between 2pm and 6.30pm. You will be given your speaking test time when you register on Saturday morning, therefore we strongly advise candidates not to make any other plans for that day and to only buy open return travel tickets. Any requests for early speaking times, must be submitted in writing at the time of application. We cannot accommodate requests on the test day itself.

If you would like to take the IELTS Test at another IH London test centre, please click here.

Back to top